Script Summary: Regularly checks your Facebook friends to check whether anyone has removed you from their friends.
When the script detects that someone you used to be friends with is no longer one of your friends, a message will appear informing you about who it was and giving a link to their profile page.
Brief explanation of how the Script works...
Any time a page is loaded on Facebook, the script will run and it will follow the following basic algorithm;
- Load a list of all of your friends in the background.
- Compare this list of friends with the list from the last time the script checked your friends.
- If someone was on the list before who isn't now, show the blue box informing the user.
- Save the new list of friends over the old one.
- Save the current time as the last checked time.
If you have any comments on this then please create a discussion about it.
NB. The script will not show a box at the top until it detects that someone has removed you from their friends. Please don't create a topic complaining about the script not working if immediately after installing it nothing happens.
This script is known to conflict with the FFixer script and with the HTTPSEverywhere add-on.
- Initial release.
- (later in the day...) Ironed out a few bugs.
- 23-March-2009: Old friends now stays until a button is clicked to hide this. This means the page can be refreshed and the notification will still remain.
- 21 July 2009: Finally fixed for Facebook changes.
- 24 July 2009: Changed so that it should no longer appear in the error console.
- 25 July 2009: Fixed to work for people with vanity URLs.
- 20 August 2009: Small fix to stop errors appearing in the console. Shouldn't change any functionality.
- 29 August 2009: Fixed to work for people with >400 friends. Hopefully. Many, many thanks to bengliang.
- 4-September-2009: Fixed to work better if removed friends have vanity urls.
- Fixed to be more reliable for getting friend's names once they've removed you. Massive thanks to Troy Thompson for the typeahead search link.
- Added auto-update.
- 25-October-2009: I found out the script doesn't run for some users, so updated to (hopefully) be more reliable.
- 2-November-2009: Fixed to work more reliably, more quickly after a friend removes you.
- 5-November-2009: Fixed for recent Facebook change that broke the script.
- 10 February 2010: Fixed for new Facebook redesign. Many, many thanks to moebiuss for the fix details.
- Changed in an attempt to make it more reliable.
- Style improved on deleted friends notification.
- No longer can tell if someone rejected a friend request.
- 5 October 2010: Changed back to show when people reject friend requests.
- 2 October 2010: Fixed to work for new Facebook changes. Unable to see when people reject friend requests again.